Scotch & Comics: Episode 010 – High Tension

Always remember Rule #1 of JSA...

Seriously. Make fun of this guy’s costume. I dare you.

In this, the tenth episode of Scotch and Comics, many questions are raised. Such as: What do a 1970s British cop series, a beloved grandma, and Teacher’s Highland Cream have in common? Which Hernandez brother draws the best smashed-up cars? What comic book can get your intrepid host absolutely (in his own words) JAZZED? And what gives him the right to lay down the law when it comes to the Justice Society? It’s a trip through a wide selection of comics, from Mark Waid’s first story on The Flash, to Remender & Opena’s take on The Punisher, to Erik Larsen’s Savage Dragon, to the indie classic Love & Rockets, and DC’s new Earth 2 series. Five Scotch-fueled diatribes and five energetic musical breaks: ten reasons to listen to Scotch & Comics!

Show Notes/Links:

  • This podcast contains very mild spoilers for Planetary. Yes, I’ve made the jump to spoiling things that I’m not even READING.
  • I said “Beyond Palomar” when I should have said “Human Diastrophism.” I haven’t read Beyond Palomar yet.
  • Did you know that I have a Tumblr now? Well I do! Because I don’t my digits in enough internet pies!
  • Also: Wildcat is great. Seriously. You know what I’m talking about, right?
  • The songs featured in this episode are: The Sweeney Theme (written by Harry South), Right Brigade by Bad Brains, The Fifty Minute Hour by The Hylozoists, Hit It & Quit It by Funkadelic, and Train #2 by The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion.

Link: Episode 010 on Libsyn
Download: Scotch & Comics Episode 010
Subscribe on Itunes: The Readerfeed

Leave a Reply

