Kickstart My Heart: The Power Principle

Unless you’ve been away from the internet for the past few months, you’ve probably heard of a website called Kickstarter. It’s a place where people with an idea for a project can go to raise funds that will help them bring that proejct to fruition, by offering backer rewards and other incentives. It’s basically Internet Patronage, and that’s something I think is just fantastic if done well.

I have backed a number of projects on Kickstarter and I will continue to do so if they catch my attention. But there’s one in particular that I wanted to tell you about.

The Power Principle is a project that’s thirty years in the making. And it all started when a young man named Alan White got accepted to the Joe Kubert School of Cartoon and Graphic Art. I don’t want to go through the whole story, as it’s not my story to tell, and Alan tells it far better than I ever could. I do want to tell you a little bit about Alan, though, and why I feel this project is so important.

Alan White is one of the kindest people I have ever met. He is optimistic, friendly, helpful, considerate, and just plain fun. If you are lucky enough to be his friend you will have someone who will laugh with you when times are good and who will make you laugh when times are bad. Plus, he’s creative and imaginative too. And The Power Principle is a story that he’s been carrying with him, literally and figuratively, since 1982. I talked to him about it last weekend and I could feel the emotions and the excitement he has for this comic. The way he talks about it gets me excited at the possibility of reading it one day. And I want you to be able to read it too.

So here’s the deal. I’ve already contributed to his Kickstarter campaign. If you like comic books and want to see something new and exciting and not just the same kind of book that has a stranglehold on over 60% of the marketplace, I want you to go to his Kickstarter page and check it out. And if you feel that it deserves your patronage, and you donate at least five dollars, I want you to send me a message, on the blog or on Twitter or via e-mail (scotchandcomics@gmail.com), and tell me that you’ve contributed. And for every person that donates based on what I’ve written in this short little essay, I will increase my pledge by five dollars. I won’t be able to match you dollar for dollar, but I promise that whether you donate five or fifty dollars, I’ll bump mine up by five. If five people pledge, that’s twenty-five dollars. If twenty people pledge, that’s a hundred. I would LOVE it if over twenty people pledged, even though that means I might be a little low on scotch or coffee in September. But that’s a sacrifice I’m willing to make.

The deadline’s Friday August 25, so you have less than a week to donate. Please,visit his page and look it over for yourself. I want Alan to make his goal. I want to read this comic. I want proof that dreams can come true even if they’ve been in storage for thirty years. And I want you to help make it happen.

Leave a Reply

